Which device will be more compatible with Locus GIS and improve my work in field

Dear colleagues, welcome everyone!
I am a biologist on PhD studies. I successfully use Locus GIS application and I no longer have to use traditional paper maps.
I’m working with my smartphone Xiaomi Redmi Not 4 and this device work quite good, but I am looking for something better with more acurate GPS and may be with bigger display. I’m curious what devices you work on? I also considered the possibility of buying a GNSS bluetooth receiver (antenna), which could be operated by Locus GIS - I saw this possibility in the options. What compatible models do you recommend?

I’m biologist too and running an own planning company with several employees which are all using LocusGIS out in the field (one of the two example database in new ver. 0.12 is ours…). We are mainly working with Galaxy Tab Active 2 (8 inches) and Galaxy Note 9 (6.4 in) - both with stylus (that’s extremely helpful for digitizing in LGIS!). Our experience so far is: Samsung generally seems to have very good GPS (and Glonass + Beidou) receiving (in general <1-2 m). Some years ago we started older LGIS on Nexus 7 devices which were rather inaccurate (sometimes >10 m). One also running Huawei Mate 9 is also accurate (needs additional stylus which are available with 1 mm tip - also valuable for digitizing). Last years we were using Galaxy Note Tab 10 (10 inches, GPS accurate and with stylus) but these proved as too unhandy in the field (and not water resistant)
We are mainly working in tree expertises and are able to correct GPS inaccuracies by using WMTS aerial pic services. Depending on wether and location (a bit worse in forests) we are regularely able to correct detailed tree positions on top of aerial pic which gives us sufficient accuracy.

1 Like